11 Things

  1. Acknowledge the nominating blogger.
  2. Share 11 random facts about yourself.
  3. Answer the 11 questions the nominating blogger has created for you.
  4. List 11 bloggers.
  5. Post 11 questions for the bloggers you nominate to answer, and let all the bloggers know they have been nominated.

 

1. Acknowledge the nominating blogger.

Clare, I accept your challenge. I especially accept it at this time when I really should be working on other things… But at least this is an engaging distraction. For my readers, you can find Clare’s blog here (it’s brilliant): https://clareseltcompendium.wordpress.com/

2. Share 11 random facts about yourself.

One: I changed my major several times in college. I declared general studies, business and management, international business, music business, and Japanese as major before I finally stuck to my TRUE passion, which is applied linguistics and TESOL.

Two: Music is my first love. I listen to it most of the day. My all-time favorite singer is Miho Fukuhara. If you like Japanese pop music, I recommend my favorite song by her (STARLIGHT). (Fun fact: That song I just linked was co-written by JC Chasez from NSYNC.)

Three: I’m a licensed Zumba instructor. My favorite song to teach is The Other Side of Love by Sean Paul.

Four: My high school GPA was 2.6. When I started my senior year, it was a 2.1 (long story that is probably not appropriate for this blog). I’m proof that it is never too late to turn around academically.

Five: I wanted to be a teacher for as long as I could remember, but I was strongly discouraged by many

Six: I came out of the closet on March 14th, 2007 when I was 15. I initially came out as bisexual because I foolishly thought that coming out as bi would be better (because then at least there was a chance I could be with girls.) I didn’t fully come out as gay until I was well into 16.

Seven: One of the traits I really admire about myself is that if I’m scared of or insecure about something, I push myself to change it. For example, I have a huge fear of public speaking (which is odd because I wanted to be a teacher). To conquer this fear, I started submitting conference proposals. I miraculously managed to get many accepted in my first year of applications (about 4). Now presenting isn’t so bad!

Eight: I talk about Beyoncé to the point that people might think she’s my favorite singer and that I’m obsessed with her. The truth is she isn’t even one of my top 5 favorite musicians.

Nine:  I used to frequently write songs. If I ever recorded an EP with some of my favorites, the songs I would put on it are called Take Me Away, Dream Catcher, 11:11PM, Criminal, and Euphoria.

Ten: I used to write Sailor Moon, Harry Potter, and Kingdom Hearts fan fiction.

Eleven: If I could marry any celebrity, I would marry Adam Scott (Parks and Recreation, Party Down, Step Brothers).

3. Answer the 11 questions the nominating blogger has created for you.

One: How are you feeling today?

I’m feeling pretty great! Finished a conference proposal that I think has a lot of potential! Now I’m just rushing to finish a lesson for tomorrow!

Two: What book is closest to you as you write this? And would you recommend it to others? Why (not)?

A Positive View of LGBTQ! It’s one of my favorite books! I absolutely recommend it to others, especially those who identify as LGBTQ! This book taught me to FULLY accept myself and see that my queerness is special.

Three: What’s your top tip for de-stressing after a hard day at work?

Alcohol. Red wine is great. Chilean wine especially.

Four: Have you ever learnt any foreign languages? How has this helped you be a better language teacher?

Japanese. Learning it taught me to be critical of the audiolingual method, but also see the advantages of it! It also gave me many creative ideas for the language classroom (such as role play).

Five: Describe your teaching style by comparison to an animal, and explain the similarities!

Well there’s not much difference. I just go to class, crawl onto the desk, and fall asleep until it’s time to move on… Is that not what I’m supposed to do? I thought EAP meant English for Animalistic Purposes.

Six: Describe the view out of the closest window.

I don’t feel like writing all of that. Here’s a picture.

image2 (2).JPG

Seven: Which are the most recently used smiley/emojis on your mobile phone/whatsapp or instant messenger programme?

Crying-laughing emoji! 😂

Eight: What was the most recent photo you took?

A selfie, of course. (Note: I answered this before I gave up trying to write an answer to question six.)

image1 (2).JPG

Nine: Where are you based, and would you recommend working there to others?

I’m based in Trier, Germany…. Need I say more?

Ten: What’s your best memory of a lesson you’ve taught?

The one that comes into mind was my lesson about media framing.

Eleven: What would you like to say to me, now that I’ve nominated you for this challenge?!

You’re an evil woman, but I love you anyway.

4. List 11 bloggers.

I only know four. I know I’m cheating, but I don’t want to procrastinate posting this anymore!

Heather: https://adventuretimewithheather.wordpress.com/

Matthew: https://muddlesintomaxims.com/

Miranda: https://mirandaskyechristine.wordpress.com/

Portland Dispatches: https://portlanddispatches.wordpress.com

5. Post 11 questions for the bloggers you nominate to answer, and let all the bloggers know they have been nominated.

One: What is your all-time favorite song?

Two: What is your idea of happiness?

Three: What is your exercise of choice (if you exercise, that is)?

Four: Who do you go to when you need advice about work?

Five: If you were forced to listen to one genre of music for the rest of your life, what would you pick and why?

Six: What’s the worst book you’ve ever read and why?

Seven: What is your biggest pet peeve?

Eight: If you had to pick a career other than the one you study for or currently work in, what would it be?

Nine: What is your favorite thing about yourself?

Ten: Who is your biggest admirer?

Eleven: What is your biggest regret?

One comment

Leave a Reply

